2018 Racing: Winter Circuit Races, League Dates and more!

Ah Christmas!  Turkey!  Mince pies!  Too much of everything!

If you’re looking for some motivation to try and keep you from scoffing too many mince pies over Christmas, and leaving you with far too much work to do come Spring, then feast your eyes on the provisional dates for next years SCRL racing instead!  Burn some calories instead of gaining them!

We’ve got all sorts of racing lined up for you this year, so there’s something for everyone.  If you haven’t tried any of these disciplines before why not have a go?  It could be your calling!

Some of these dates are yet to be fully confirmed and will be added to the calendar when they are.  Until then, here’s the ‘dates for your diary’.

Sundays: Winter Series Circuit Races

SCRL will be promoting six Sunday morning circuit races (that’s races for road bikes rather than track bikes) at the Preston Park track through February, March and April.  The plan currently is to race a Youth A and B race, a womens all categories race, a mens category 4 race, and a mens category E/1/2/3 race each Sunday.  We are looking to try and run enough of these to run it as a full series.

The provisional dates are:

  • Sunday 11th February
  • Sunday 25th February
  • Sunday 4th March
  • Sunday 18th March
  • Sunday 1st April
  • Sunday 15th April

Wednesdays: Accreditation

To race in any of the track events (that’s any meeting using a fixed gear ‘track’  bike) you must be accredited.

Accreditation sessions are the three Fridays the same weeks:

  • Friday 6th April
  • Friday 13th April
  • Friday 20th April

For more information about accreditation for new riders check the accreditation page.  Accredited riders are also welcome (you must still pay the fee) to come along for a ride round and to help give the new riders a feel for what riding in the bigger bunches is like.

Wednesdays: Track League

The Sussex Cycle Track League 2018 season begins with two warmup Wednesday sessions.

  • Wednesday 4th April
  • Wednesday 11th April

The warmup sessions are for any already accredited riders who want a chance to get their track bike chops back into shape ahead of the season.  Sessions are semi-structured.  There are usually a few ad-hoc races to get things going.

The league proper begins with a commisaires special on Wednesday 18th April and continues every Wednesday until the final night on Wednesday 15th August.

Fridays (Bi Weekly): Veterans and Womens Track Series

Series?  Yes, with six events this year we are hoping that the Vets and Womens track race evenings can be run as a series.  This means a league-like table with accumulated points over the six weeks and an overall winner in each category.

As numbers dropped last year near the summer holidays, we are running these earlier in the year for 2018.

The dates are:

  • Friday 27th April
  • Friday 11th May
  • Friday 25th May
  • Friday 8th June
  • Friday 22nd June
  • Friday 6th July

Fridays (Bi Weekly): Circuit Races

In much the same format as the Sunday winter series, a series of circuit (road bike) races for 4th cat Men, and women in all categories over six races.

Provisional dates are:

  • Friday 18th May
  • Friday 1st June
  • Friday 15th June
  • Friday 29th June
  • Friday 13th July
  • Friday 27th July

Just one more thing ….

All of these events have a minimum marshalling requirement.  Not enough marshalls = event cancelled.  We will be putting out a more detailed appeal soon but, if you can volunteer at ANY of the events to make things run smoothly then please get in touch via the contact us page.

More Questions?

See the “About” and “Start Racing!” menus at the top of the page which should answer most of your questions.  The FAQ page may be a good place to start.